This is exactly why, on this post, the team at is shedding some interesting insights to help you have a better understanding of Africa’s renowned Big Five animals once and for all!

Consisting of the African lion, the black rhinoceros, the African elephant, the African leopard, and the Cape buffalo, many would assume that the term ‘The Big Five’ is attributed to the animals’ large size. However, it was actually coined by big game hunters who thought that these five African mammals were the most dangerous and most difficult to hunt.

Fortunately, today, thanks to decades of worthwhile efforts in the conservation and preservation of the wildlife, the Big Five safaris no longer refers to hunting safaris. Instead, it now provides travelers all over the globe with the priceless opportunity to observe the magnificent creatures frolicking in their own habitat.

Though all five species are native to Africa, if you would like to see them all at one go, you will only be able to spot them in certain destinations. Here’s a list of the countries to consider visiting: Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Malawi.

Want to find out more information about the Big Five animals before you ‘meet’ them in real life? Below are some interesting facts you may be interested to know about each species: 


1.The African Lion


A majestic male African lion


Often referred to as the  “King of Beasts” or the “King of the Jungle”, the lion is without a doubt one of the most sought after and powerful creatures in the animal kingdom. The African lion however, is thought to be the most social of all the big cats. They can be found roaming around together in groups called ‘prides’. Each pride usually consists of a herd of about 15 lions which includes only one or two males (with one being the dominant male) and the rest of the members include females and cubs of different ages.  With an average lifespan of up to 15 years old, you can generally tell how old a lion is by looking at its mane – the darker it is, the older he is.

The female lions are the hunters of the pride – usually on the prowl at night, in the afternoon or early morning.  Their prey includes Wildebeest, Zebra, Giraffe, Buffalo – and even young elephants. You can usually spot lions hanging around in open plains, where their ‘victims’ often congregate thanks to plenty of grazing and permanent water sources in these areas. 


2.The Black Rhinoceros 


Black Rhinoceros are extremely endangered

Image credit:


Though its name refers to its color as black, its actual colors vary from brown to gray. A native to Eastern and Southern Africa, unfortunately, this species is still one of the most hunted animals in Africa and it is the most endangered out of the Big Five animals.

With the exception of females and their offspring, black Rhinos are actually solitary creatures – preferring to live alone. They feed at night as well as during dawn and dusk. Their sustenance mainly comes from leaves and fruits found in trees and bushes. Rhinos actually have poor vision but an excellent sense of smell and hearing.

What makes the black Rhinos stands out from its ‘cousin’ the white rhino are their double (two) horns. Their front horn (located just above their nose) is considered the prominent one. It may grow as much as 3 inches annually and up to five feet long. This prominent horn is the main reason why this species is still fiercely poached. It is thought to have potent medicinal use and is often highly sought after in Asian countries such as China and Taiwan. Whereas in North Africa and the Middle East, it’s usually sold as ornamental dagger handle.


3.The African elephant


A herd of African elephants

Image credit:


Compared to their Asian ‘cousins’, African elephants are much larger in size as they can grow up to 13 feet tall (up to 4 meters) and weigh up to 14,000 lbs (6350 Kg). The largest land animal in the world, they can be found in 37 different countries in Africa. There are actually 2 different species of the African elephant: the savannah elephant and the forest elephant. The forest elephant is usually smaller with rounded ears as well as tusks that grow downward. While the Savannah elephants can be found in the savannah of Africa, the forest elephants inhabit the rain forests of Central and Western Africa.

Highly social animals, they are known to be able to communicate with others across large distances at a low frequency which can not be heard by humans. Also, you’d be interested to know that many plant species have seeds that depend on being passed through the elephant’s digestive tract before they can germinate. In fact, at least a third of the trees found in West African forests rely on elephants for dissemination.


4.The African leopard


The African leopard love to 'hide' in trees


A solitary, secretive and nocturnal animal, the African leopard is difficult to spot as they like to rest and stay hidden during the day. Because of this, they tend to be the most elusive and less seen out of the Big Five animals when you go on a safari.

African leopards have a preference for rocky landscapes with dense bush and riverine forests. However, they are known to adapt quickly, seldom staying in an area more than two or three days at a time. Thanks to their adaptability, they are able to survive the loss of their previous habitat due to increasing human settlement.

Excellent climbers, the leopard’s spotted coat provides almost perfect camouflage which comes in handy when they hunt.  A stealthy hunter, once they caught their prey, they’ll often safeguard it by taking it up to the trees to prevent other animals such as lions or hyenas from stealing their food.

What you may not know about this beautiful creature is that they are also strong swimmers and would even occasionally consume fish or shellfish like crabs!


5.The Cape Buffalo


The Cape buffalo

Image credit:


The lesser known species out of the five on the list, the Cape buffalo are formidable animals thanks to their size, large herds, and horns. They may be active throughout the day and night. On average, they spend 18 hours a day foraging and moving around in herds of up to 500 buffalos.

Often hunted by the lion, they are extremely loyal to its herd and would often try to rescue another member if they are caught by attacking the predator. Sometimes hunted by humans, they reportedly kill more hunters in Africa than other animals. They have an excellent memory and known to ambush hunters that have wounded or injured them – even years after the incident.

Also known as the African Buffalo, the Cape buffalo is actually not closely related to the water buffalo (commonly found in Asia) though they do look somewhat similar to each other. Unlike the water buffalo, they are actually quite dangerous and has never known to be domesticated.


Looking to catch glimpses of a more diverse set of animals during your safari trip? Be sure to check out our vast selection of wildlife safaris!