What to Expect on a Safari: (Live Wildlife Cameras)

by Jodi Lucas

We're expert safari travellers and we love helping you. BookAllSafaris.com is the largest safari travel website with 2416 unique listings in 224 destinations around the world.
Discover Safari Holidays now

Going on a safari is one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences. But, if you haven’t been on an African safari yet, you might be wondering what you can expect to encounter on your journey.

Although there are plenty of safari 101 guides, the truth is that the only way you’ll know what going on a safari is like, is by taking the plunge and… you know… going on that safari!

So, if you want to know what to expect on a safari but don’t want to take the leap just yet, here are a few live safari cams that will show you what’s happening in Africa’s most iconic wilderness areas RIGHT NOW. Of course, nothing can beat being there in the flesh, but with this, you can take a sneak peek into the African wilderness, right from the comfort of the very seat you’re sitting on. 


When was the last time you checked something off your bucket list? Do it now by going on a wildlife safari in Tanzania


Just like a real-life safari experience, nothing is ever guaranteed. You might see a herd of elephants in Botswana, buck in South Africa, or lions in Kenya, and sometimes all that’s there are vast African landscapes alive with the sounds of a thousand birds.

Mother Nature is unpredictable, and patience is key, but if you don’t spot your favorite animal right away, then bookmark this page and check back in a bit later. 

Botswana 

Best time to visit: May-Sep (the Okavango is flooded from June to October)
Live cam safari destination: Mashatu Game Reserve 

Welcome to Botswana! A place of unparalleled beauty, where the safari experiences can seem as endless as the Okavango Delta waters themselves.

But what makes this region truly special is that more than one-third of the country is made up of national parks and reserves!

Of all the places to go on a safari in Botswana, Mashatu Game Reserve is my personal favorite.

Originally known as the Tuli enclave, this remarkable area encompasses more than 90,000 acres of game land and is a sanctuary to the largest single population of elephants.

Kenya

Best time to visit: Wildlife viewing is good year-round but June - October is most popular.
Live cam safari destination: Laikipia County


This iconic safari destination needs no introduction. Safaris in Kenya truly offer the best of Africa: great migration action, fascinating cultures, and snow-capped equatorial mountains.

In short, Kenya is the perfect place to answer Africa’s call of the wild. Nestled on the coast of East Africa, this wild country is where Roosevelt put romance into hunting and started off the safari industry.

Today, the only shooting that’s allowed is through a camera lens, as the country is home to Africa's most innovative and successful anti-poaching, conservation communities. 

In other words, if you want to make sure that your hard earned travel money is going to all the right places, then going on a conservation safari in Kenya is your best bet.

South Africa

Best time to safari in South Africa: The best time to see the wildlife in South Africa is during our dry winter and spring months (May to early October).
Live cam safari destination: Pilanesberg National Park

Ah, South Africa! Home to black-maned lions, elusive leopards, powdery beaches, rugged mountains, and me!

I could go on and on about all the amazing wildlife opportunities that await you here, but you just have to see it to believe it.

A safari in the Kruger National Park is a must for novice travelers as you’re guaranteed to spot at least some of the iconic Big Five animals. But, if you wish to go off the beaten path, be sure to check out the Pilanesberg.

This is my personal favorite safari destination in South Africa as it is home to over 7,000 species of animals, including the Big Five.

Best time to safari in South Africa: The best time to see the wildlife in South Africa is during our dry winter and spring months (May to early October).
Live cam safari destination: Pilanesberg National Park

Guided Safari Tours in Africa

If you’ve ever wondered what it will be like to go on a safari with a tour guide, then be sure to tune into SafariLive.

This amazing live stream, headed by two expert safari guides, will show you exactly what you can expect while on a guided wildlife safari tour, from the super early morning wake up calls and bone-chilling evening drives.

The best part is that you can interact with the guides by asking questions through the chat on YouTube.

Here are the live camera times: 

The sunrise drive runs from 05:00 - 08:00 local time (23:00 EDT, 20:00 PDT, 03:00 GMT, 05:00 in Central Europe, and 14:00 Sydney time.)

Sunset safari runs from 16:00 - 19:00 local time, ( 10:00 EDT, 07:00 PDT, 14:00 GMT, 16:00 in Central Europe, and 01:00 Sydney time.)

Safaris Outside of Africa

Africa may be the home of safaris, but there are plenty of places outside of Africa where you can come face-to-face with wildlife in its natural habitat.

If going on a safari in Africa doesn’t fit into your travel plans, how about heading on an Arctic safari?

This is an expedition like no other, offering plenty of unique sights and wildlife viewing opportunities. Look up and be dazzled by the mysterious veil of the Aurora Borealis and experience the thrill of spotting a polar bear in the wild. 

Out of This World 

(Spoiler alert: the Earth is not flat)

We can’t take you on an outer-space safari since space travel is not commercially available (yet), but, being a HitchHiker’s Guide to The Galaxy fan, I thought that this would be an epic addition to the list.

This is our planet. Our only home (so far) and it’s up to us to keep it and all of the beautiful life forms that inhabit it alive. Whether it be by going on a conservation safari or simply by living a greener life


Don’t just watch all of this beauty from afar! Strap on your adventure boots and jump right into a wildlife safari in Kenya. You won’t regret it.

Don't miss out, join our mailing list and get updates & special offers!
Served by www:8000

Logging out

of Tripaneer websites